Pine Hosting Project Zomboid Alternatives: Plans Compared
Compare Pine Hosting Project Zomboid alternatives using matched 8 GB monthly prices, documented controls and the unknowns to verify before paying.
You will need
- Your monthly budget and preferred billing term
- Expected simultaneous players and your planned mod list
- The game build and server region your group needs
- An independent copy of your world and server configuration
If you are comparing Pine Hosting Project Zomboid alternatives, start with the closest published plan size and billing period, then check the controls that matter to your group. Pine lists 8 GB for $20.99 per month on its Performance card; Game Hosting lists 8 GB for $21.99 per month. The $1 difference does not tell you which world will run better, and Pine’s 20-slot allowance is not the same measure as a recommended player count.
For a group that wants documented game settings and backup slots as part of managed hosting, we recommend Game Hosting’s Project Zomboid plans. The 8 GB plan is listed at $21.99 per month and includes an integrated panel and three backup slots. Pine’s displayed 8 GB price is one dollar lower, and its page advertises a file manager and mod tools; the next sections show what those public details settle and what to confirm before you pay.
We checked Pine’s Project Zomboid plan page and Game Hosting’s Project Zomboid plans on October 6, 2026. This is a buyer comparison, not an account test, workload benchmark, support test, restore or migration test. A01 remains the broad provider-selection worksheet; this page focuses on the Pine offer and a matched alternative.
Choose a Pine alternative around your group’s requirements#
Write down the job before comparing logos: how many people expect to join at once, which build everyone uses, whether you need a particular Workshop set, and where most players connect from. Then decide whether the recurring monthly bill or a longer prepaid term fits the group. These inputs make the plan figures useful; without them, a slot count or an “easy” panel claim cannot answer whether the offer fits.
Our broader Project Zomboid hosting buyer checklist compares six providers and gives a general shortlist worksheet. It does not include Pine in that comparison. This guide fills a narrower question for someone already considering Pine: what changes when the closest published 8 GB monthly alternative is considered on the same terms?
Keep the evidence categories separate as you compare. A price card is a public offer. A feature icon is an advertised capability. A provider confirmation should name the selected plan and terms. A completed test is needed before you claim a server performed well, that a backup restored cleanly, or that a complete world export worked. If you are mainly evaluating panel workflow rather than choosing between offers, the Project Zomboid settings guide covers how to identify and verify the active settings file.
Compare Pine Hosting Project Zomboid alternatives at 8 GB#
Pine’s Performance package and Game Hosting’s Party tier give you a useful matched-memory price comparison on the monthly cards checked today. Pine lists 8 GB at $20.99 per month; Game Hosting lists 8 GB at $21.99 per month. That makes Pine’s displayed monthly price $1 lower before any account-specific tax, promotion or selected extras. The comparison does not establish a cheaper final checkout total or better value for every group.
| Offer | Memory and listed rate | Player figure on the page | Documented distinction to ask about |
|---|---|---|---|
| Game Hosting Party | 8 GB; $21.99/month | 8-player planning recommendation | Integrated game panel; three backup slots |
| Pine Performance | 8 GB; $20.99/month | 20 advertised slots | Pine advertises a file manager, Workshop installer, mod manager and scheduled tasks |
The player figures are different kinds of information. Game Hosting’s number helps size a plan for a typical group; it is not a hard player cap or a performance guarantee. Pine’s slot figure is an advertised admission allowance; it does not show that 20 players with your particular world and mods will have a good session. Do not divide RAM by slots or treat either provider’s label as a benchmark.
Pine also lists Essential at 5 GB, 10 slots and $11.50 per month, and Extreme at 10 GB, 60 slots and $38.99 per month. Those cards can help you see its package ladder, but they are not direct price matches for Game Hosting’s 6 GB and 12 GB options. Keep memory, billing period and any add-ons aligned before drawing a cost conclusion. Pine’s page shows 10%, 20% and 30% savings labels for longer terms, but the captured display does not map each discount to a specific term and checkout total. Verify the selected term and renewal amount in the order summary.
Read CPU and player figures without assuming performance#
Game Hosting documents an AMD Ryzen 9 9900X and a four-thread CPU limit per plan. Pine labels its Project Zomboid packages with CPU percentages: 150% on Essential, 200% on Performance and 300% on Extreme. The public Pine plan page does not map its 200% label to a processor model or thread count, so you cannot convert the two disclosures into a like-for-like compute comparison.
| Disclosure | What the provider publishes | What it does not prove |
|---|---|---|
| Game Hosting | Ryzen 9 9900X; four CPU threads per plan | A specific tick rate for your world or mod set |
| Pine Performance | 200% CPU on the 8 GB package | A fixed number of cores, threads or a measured speed advantage |
If CPU detail will affect your choice, ask Pine what the percentage means on the exact package and whether the resource is a limit, a shared allocation or another platform unit. Ask either provider how it recommends evaluating a world with your expected players, map age and mods. A model name and a percentage are disclosures, not a test of your session. Keep client frame rate, connection quality and server simulation separate when you evaluate an actual trial or paid plan.
Do the same with player counts. A slot allowance tells you how many connections a plan advertises; it does not describe the size of the world, the number exploring at once, save activity or mod workload. Start with the group you expect to play together, then confirm the provider’s plan recommendation without turning it into a promise.
Check the control and mod tools your group will use#
Pine’s Project Zomboid page advertises a Workshop installer, a mod manager, task scheduling and a file manager. Game Hosting documents an integrated game panel with roughly 77 Project Zomboid settings and checks for Workshop IDs and mod updates. Those descriptions can help you shortlist a workflow, but neither page demonstrates your specific mod combination or a successful multiplayer join.
Ask what happens with a real change your group plans to make. Can the operator review the current server settings? Does the selected plan show the Workshop IDs and Mod IDs needed for the intended setup? Can an administrator tell which mod changed after an update? Does a scheduled task run when expected, and can you read the resulting log? Confirm which account roles can make each change before sharing panel access with another player.
A mod manager can reduce manual entry; it cannot prove that every mod supports your server build, has all dependencies or behaves correctly in multiplayer. Check each maintainer’s build and multiplayer guidance, then test the combination on a separate world before applying a risky update to a long-running save. If you are comparing only how .ini changes work, use the settings workflow reference instead of treating an advertised file browser as proof that every setting is editable.
Verify backups, exports and cancellation before you pay#
A file manager is not automatically a complete, portable world export. Pine’s public PZ offer lists a file manager, but the page reviewed here does not specify which world, player, configuration or mod-manifest files the selected account can download. It also does not state the backup contents, retention period, restore steps or a complete export route. Those are unknown from this page; that is not evidence the features are absent.
Game Hosting’s product information documents three backup slots, with the newest copy sent off-site daily. A slot count is not a retention period, and it does not prove that a restore of your particular world has been tested. Before choosing either provider, get the plan-specific details in writing:
- Which world and player data are included, and which server settings must you save separately?
- Can you download an independent copy of the world, configuration and mod identifiers to storage you control?
- How many recoverable copies remain, how long are they kept, and which files does a restore replace?
- When does access end after cancellation, and how much time do you have to export files?
Keep your own copy before changing hosts or canceling. If continuity is essential, test the provider’s documented recovery process on a separate compatible destination while the original server remains intact. Neither provider’s public marketing page is a completed restore test. Read the selected plan’s current cancellation and renewal terms at checkout; do not assume that a file icon, backup label or refund headline guarantees an outcome.
Confirm the Project Zomboid build and terms#
The Indie Stone released Build 42.21 to Stable on September 28, 2026. Pine’s offer page does not identify the exact server build a new order deploys, and its general update claim does not settle which branch your group can select. Before ordering for an existing world, ask for the exact server build and update process, then match it against every client and the mods you intend to use.
Do not assume that a rental converts a save between incompatible versions. If you plan to move an established world, save a recoverable copy first, identify its source build and confirm the destination build with the provider. The official 42.21 Stable release notice describes the game update; it does not prove Pine’s current deployment options or validate a migration between providers.
Confirm the full recurring bill as well. Compare the same monthly or prepaid term, selected memory tier, region and options. Ask whether any displayed discount applies only to the first order, what renews next, and when service access ends after cancellation. Pine’s current offer page displays several term-savings labels without tying the visible percentages to your final order. Save the checkout summary and applicable terms so your group can agree to the real amount, not an old banner.
For a broader provider scorecard beyond the Pine decision, return to the general buyer checklist. If you are already comparing Indifferent Broccoli, see the focused alternatives guide for its dated slot prices, cancellation terms and destination checks. If you are also comparing BisectHosting, the BisectHosting alternative guide focuses on its own billing, locations, CPU disclosures and backup terms.
Pick the offer that answers your required questions#
Pine may suit a group whose first priorities are the listed $20.99 monthly 8 GB price and its advertised file and mod tools, after the group confirms the exact access, build and export details it needs. Game Hosting costs $1 more on the matched monthly card and documents a named Ryzen processor, a four-thread plan limit, game-specific settings and three backup slots. Those facts describe different offers; they do not show which provider would perform better for your session.
Before you choose, mark each must-have as documented, confirmed for your selected plan or still unknown. If the exact build, region, configuration access or recovery path remains unanswered, pause and get a plan-specific response. If your group can operate with the controls each provider documents and your own export checks pass, choose based on the actual recurring price and the work your administrators want to own.
A provider comparison cannot settle the one test that matters most to your world: whether the selected plan, build, mod set and recovery process work for your group. Keep a separate copy, verify the terms and make that check before moving a long-running save.
Quick answers
Which hosting server is best for Project Zomboid?
The right fit depends on your exact build, workload, billing term and recovery needs. This comparison uses public plan details and is not a measured performance ranking.
Is Pine Hosting legit?
Pine publishes Project Zomboid prices and feature claims, but this review does not verify service delivery. Read current terms and independent feedback before paying.
What is the cheapest server hosting for Project Zomboid?
Pine lists its 5 GB Essential plan at $11.50 per month. That is one provider’s displayed price, not a market-wide lowest-price claim.
Does Pine Hosting’s 20-slot plan mean 20 players will run smoothly?
No. Slots are an advertised admission allowance, not evidence that a particular group, build and mod set will perform well.

